Difference between revisions of "Tossup-bonus cycle"

From QBWiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
(+another example)
Line 4: Line 4:
 
*[[Timeouts]] may only be called between cycles. This means that if a tossup goes dead, a timeout may be called before the next tossup is read; if a tossup is answered correctly, a timeout may not be called until the completion of the bonus.
 
*[[Timeouts]] may only be called between cycles. This means that if a tossup goes dead, a timeout may be called before the next tossup is read; if a tossup is answered correctly, a timeout may not be called until the completion of the bonus.
 
*In NAQT [[timed match]]es, a cycle that is begun before time expires in a half is completed. This means that even if the moderator is still reading the tossup when time expires, the moderator will continue, and a team correctly answering the tossup will get read its bonus, as usual.
 
*In NAQT [[timed match]]es, a cycle that is begun before time expires in a half is completed. This means that even if the moderator is still reading the tossup when time expires, the moderator will continue, and a team correctly answering the tossup will get read its bonus, as usual.
 +
 +
[[Category:Quizbowl basics]]

Revision as of 15:23, 13 January 2018

Tossup-bonus cycle (or, in context, just cycle) refers to a tossup and, if it is answered correctly, its accompanying bonus.

The term is usually used in rules, for example:

  • Timeouts may only be called between cycles. This means that if a tossup goes dead, a timeout may be called before the next tossup is read; if a tossup is answered correctly, a timeout may not be called until the completion of the bonus.
  • In NAQT timed matches, a cycle that is begun before time expires in a half is completed. This means that even if the moderator is still reading the tossup when time expires, the moderator will continue, and a team correctly answering the tossup will get read its bonus, as usual.